Each Entry has the Date of LAST Revision:

 

SCS Series (ver 1.6) (27 Sept 05)

1. Delete the last sentence in 11.0 ("Except for the restrictions...").

2.  In 7.2d, it should be that a defending hex can only be attacked once. A unit could be attacked again if it retreats into some other hex that is attacked later. It defends normally there.

SCS Series (ver 1.7) (13 Feb 09)

1.  In 8.0a, the reference to 8.0c should be to 8.0b.

2.   In 8.0b, the circular reference to 8.0b should be to 8.0a. 

3.  The Fog of War rule reading “He can observe the stack’s top unit (or marker) only. “ should read “He can observe the stack’s top unit only. “

4.   When stacking is enforced based on the game specific rules, kill off any excess stacking found in any hex (owning player’s choice of units) unless the game specific rules state otherwise. In the case of a stacking check at the moment of overrun, simply put the moving units back into their starting hex and redo their move (do not kill anything).

5.     The sentence describing the Exploitation Phase (opening paragraph, 11.0) does not require units to do overrun attacks or move fully to use the Exploitation Phase. Units are allowed to move less than their full MA and they can move without any type of attack if the player desires.

6.     Combat is that act of attacking one hex. More than one stack can engage in the attack on a single hex, but only one hex can be the defender.

5-01 Stalingrad Pocket I (Before 6 Dec 94)

1. The German supply rules imply that one can trace an unlimited distance to a supply source and then proceeds to define the map edge and supply units as supply sources. In the latter case, the distance is limited by the supply range of the supply unit.

2. The bottom Stalingrad Holding Box refers to hex 41.30, not 41.29 as printed.

3. The Supply Summary on the map incorrectly limits the Soviet Supply source to the East map edge. Rule 1.3d is more correct, the Soviets can trace off the East or North map edges.

4. The two German airfields may never be involved in an attack and may never be used to absorb step losses for the attacking side.

5. Yes, that's a Rumanian Panzer Division. The German 1st Panzer is up in AGC's sector.

6. CHANGE: Soviet units must use the HQ of their historical designation for supply purposes. Reinforcements may draw from any Soviet HQ. HQs which do not have units assigned to them may only be used to supply reinforcement units. Units whose HQ is destroyed are perpetually out of supply. German HQs may supply any alert unit and are not subject to this rule.

7. The German 20th Infantry Division should be Rumanian.

8. In scenario 2, the German supply unit which is to set up in hex 36.27, should be in hex 38.27. Also, 524/297/4 should be in hex 40.27, not 40.26.

9. German units which begin scenario 2 pocketed are out of supply at the beginning of that scenario (even though they have not yet had a Supply Phase).

10. German HQs, unlike Soviet ones, are allowed to move off roads. Soviet HQs must remain on road features.

11. The Soviet Naval infantry "divisions" should be brigades.

 

5-01a Stalingrad Pocket II (16 Sept 11)

1. The Infantry Regiments of the 3rd and 60th Mtr Inf Divisions (German) should have the following ratings on their backs: 1-3-9. The infantry of the 16th Pz Div should be a 1-4-10 on its back.

2. The map's Weather Table lists turn 8 twice (4-8 line and 8-12 line). The latter should be 9-12.

3. The Turn 6 Soviet Reinforcements for Scenario 2 should read "2x Artillery Bdes" not "1x Artillery Bde."

4. There should be a bridge between 44.30 and 44.31 (just to make sure everyone knows there is).

5. The Soviet 118 UR Bde should only have one step.

6. The Rumanian 18 Inf Division's artillery should be a brigade, not a regiment (strength is correct).

7. The 38th Soviet Inf Bde should have the motorization wheel symbol.

8. In the set up for Scenario 2 (page 9), one regiment each of two Rumanian Cavalry Divisions are listed as Motorized Infantry. These are the 6 Rgt (5 Cav Div) and 3 Rgt (8 Cav Div). The "Motorized Infantry" listing is in error, these units are correctly the cavalry regiments shown on the counters.

9. The 3rd Gd Tank Brigade (7 Tk Corps) should be the Guards red color, not regular Red Army brown.

10. The 57th Pz Corps HQ replaces the 17th Corps HQ. 17 Corps fell back to the Kuban and did not participate here, 57th Pz Corps led the relief drive.

11. The Rumanian 3-2 Artillery (4 Inf Div) is marked as a regiment, it is actually a battalion.

12. Although Soviet units unable to trace a supply line to their owning HQ are out of supply, out of supply Soviet units may trace supply to any HQ to avoid attritional losses.

13. In scenario 3, the 63 Russian infantry division listed as part of the 5th Tank Army is actually one of the units of the 21st Army.

14. Players must announce the use of any DAMs before either player commits air points to a combat with the defender announcing first.

 

5-02 Afrika (3 April 98)

1. Units cannot move between hex A34.25 and hex A34.24. This all sea hexside should be considered prohibited to movement and combat (but not barrage, of course).

2. In scenario 5.2, one of the Allied 4-5 Variable Reinforcement rolls has already occurred and the RECAM unit should not be in the dead pile.

3. In scenario 4.1, the values for the 288 Sonderverband should be 4-7-18, not 3-4-15.

4. Supply cannot be traced into Salt Marsh or Delta hexes except along a road.

5. Case 1.6b should be a NOTE. The first case 1.6c should be 1.6b.

6. Design Note for 1.7: There is no reason to disallow proportional use of truck points. Proportional truck point use is allowed in the place of the current rule if players desire to use it. The existing rule was designed for simplification purposes only.

7. In 1.11a, add "Units which are out of supply cannot replace step losses."

8. Clarification's: 1.16. The SP expended to construct a box must be in standard supply range and does not supply the unit constructing the box for the coming turn. 1.17 the Babini group counts as a division for this rule.

9. For purposes of combined arms, parachute infantry counts as infantry.

10. The second player always sets up first.

11. Rommel can move in both phases, he does not have to choose between them as rule 2.3 seems to indicate.

12. (After all these years...) 21 Aus Bde (7 Aus Div) should have 3 steps, not 2.

 

5-03 Ardennes (2 Aug 99)

1. The terrain key on the map lists "river" and "stream" features, these should be "Major River" and "Minor River" respectively.

2. In scenario 5.1, the 293-18 VG which sets up in B42.06 should set up in B47.06.

3. In scenario 5.2, delete B31.17 and the blank after it  the 9 Arm units show up as reinforcements.

4. More than one DG result against a unit has no additional effect.

5. The St Vith hex (listed for its supply dump) is B42.16, not B41.16.

6. The terrain effects which apply to the Barrage Table are those listed under the table itself do not apply the regular terrain effects (the Combat Effects) to the Barrage Table; those are for the regular Combat Table only.

7. In scenario 5.5, the 387 Inf Rgt of the 167 VG Division sets up in hex B24.13 with the Divisional Artillery Regiment.

8. When a bridge reverts back into an engineer, it can do so into either hex of the two forming the hexside containing the river being bridged. In other words, the engineers can reform on the far bank to avoid crossing the river they were bridging without the benefit of their own bridge.

9. Add the following to rule 1.7: After conducting an Overrun, successful or not, a unit may continue to move using Movement Allowance remaining after paying the Overrun cost (this supercedes the first sentence of SCS rule 6.2a). However, the unit cannot conduct a second overrun in that phase even if it does have enough remaining Mps to do so.

10. The 1994 Variant countersheet provided the 11th Pz Division as an optional inclusion. This unit can set up with any German units at start. There is no VP cost for this option (just agreement between the two players that they want to see what effect this formation would have had on the offensive). The division was in OKH reserve and was not used in the historical battle.

 

5-04 Yom Kippur (10 Jan 96)

1. The Egyptian Bridges cannot be set up emplaced unless the scenario specifically calls for them to be set up that way. In other words, the campaign scenarios never begin with the Egyptian Engineers already on their Bridge sides.

2. Reshef Arm A should not appear as a reinforcement in scenario 4.4 it begins play on the map.

3. The Israeli Hawk Bn cannot be airmobile.

 

5-05 Crusader (18 Aug 99)

1. As stated in the rules, hex 48.08 should be a trench.

2. No, there aren't any missing rules in the "invisible" rules sections between 1.4 and 1.8. This glitch just proves the designer (me) cannot count.

3. The note on the map above entry area E that reads "...any D hex" should read "...any E hex."

4. Any units slated for Tobruk Reconstitution (as well as the ability to ever do any Tobruk Reconstitution in the future) are lost the instant an Axis unit occupies 19.32 (Tobruk).

5. As is the case with all SCS games with air points, the Defender identifies his air point use, then the Attacker identifies his air points then determine the odds and execute the shifts.

6. In a couple of scenarios, German Motorcycle units are listed as setting up "less one step". These are one step units and cannot set up "less one step". Set them up at full strength instead.

 

5-06 Gazala (23 Feb 04)

1. The rules state that attacking across an escarpment along a road (or track) is allowed at Ax1/3 while the map gives the modifier as Ax1/4. The map is correct (Ax1/4).

2. In scenario 4, I/104 PG sets up with the rest of 21 Pz, and the Italian 141 Artillery and 34 Engineers set up with the rest of 20 It Corps.

3. No unit can set up in Reserve. To enter Reserve, each side must wait for their first available friendly Movement Phase.

4. The full information for scenario 1 is:

 

1) The Fall of Bir Hacheim

This is a tiny scenario and a good solitaire workout. It is a rush to beat the clock for the Axis to take out the remainder of the Free French. Good Luck, it is a tough fight!

The situation has been simplified somewhat to make for a quick scenario. For example the reinforcement of the attack by the 15th Pz and the effort of the 7th Motorized Bde to disrupt it have been omitted.

 

Special Rules:

• No Reconstitution or Reinforcements (including Emergency Reinforcements)

• The Free French are never in Attack Supply (and are out of trace supply as well) and get no Air Units.

• The Free French cannot move outside of the minefields surrounding Bir Hacheim.

• Axis units are always in Attack Supply and get 2 Air Units per turn.

• Scenario continues until the last Free French unit is destroyed (the length of time it takes determines the winner).

 

General Information:

First Turn: 10

Last Turn: Until last Allied unit is destroyed.

Maps in Play: Map A only

First Player: Axis

First To Set Up: Allied

 

Commonwealth Information:

Set Up:

Inside the minefield surrounding A17.04:
1 FF Inf Bde (1 FF Bde HQ, 22 NA Arm Car Co, 2 Leg, 3 Leg, 1 Mar, 2 Oub, 1 Pac Inf Bn, 2/1 Fld Arty Bn) (All Out of Supply)

 

Axis Information:

Set Up:

w/i 2 outside Bir Hacheim Minefield from A20.02 westwards to A16.04:
Trieste Motorized Div (Trieste HQ, 8 Brs Arm Car Bn, 11 Med Arm Bn, I/65, II/65, I/66, II/66 Inf Bn, W/65, W/66 Wpn Bn, 52 Eng Bn, I/21, II/21, III/21, IV/21, V/21, 131, 147 Arty Bn), 20 It Corps (34 Eng Bn, 141 Arty Bn)

w/i 2 outside Bir Hacheim Minefield from A20.02 eastwards to A16.04:
90 Le Motorized Div (90 Le HQ, 580 Auf Recon Bn, I/288, II/288 PG Bn, I/155, II/155 Inf Bn, 900 Pio Bn), KG Hecker Commando Bn

 

Victory:

Game Ends: Victory

14 or earlier Much Better Performance

15 Better Performance

16 Historical Result

17 Slightly Worse Performance

18 or more Worse Performance

 

5-07 Drive on Paris (3 Oct 00)

1. St. Avald should be St. Avold (49.17), Remieremont should be Remiremont (52.04), Vitry de Francois should be Vitry-le-Francois (33.09), Marche-en-Famene should be Marche-en-Famenne (33.09), Maastrich should be Maastricht (35.33), Fontainbleau should be Fontainebleau (18.01), Gebweiler should be Gebwiller (56.05), Kaiserlautern should be Kaiserslautern (56.22), Phillpeville should be Phillipeville (28.24).

2. Siege Guns are not eligible to advance after combat (even given their 0 combat strength and the series rule regarding 0 strength units), nor can they be put into Reserve.

3. Siege Guns do not pay the EZOC cost adjacent to enemy units (given that there must be a friendly unit in the hex as well to negate that EZOC).

4. The French Plan XVII VP hexes cannot be counted for German VPs, but can be counted for the French if captured at any time during turns 1-8 OR held at the end of the game (like any other VP hex).

5. "Infantry" for the German Forced March rule includes all the "other" infantry types (ersatz, fortress, mountain, etc.).

6. HQs cannot be put into Reserve.

7. In any combat involving the British as attacker or defender apply the following:

On the Attack, give the British a +1 DRM to their roll on the Combat Table.

On Defense, give the British one column shift in their favor.

8. In scenario 5.2, Nancy is worth 5 VPs and hex 46.10 is worth 1 VP. The issue is that Nancy is hex 46.10. The 5 VPs are for the city, the 1 VP is for the mine. There is no need to separate the values, so just treat the hex as worth 6 VPs.

9. The French Doctrine Line (FDL) ceases to exist on Turn 15, regardless of what the situation is (or if the Germans have crossed the Panic Line).

10. The Foch effect on reconstitution is too narrow in the rule (2.6). The rule states "He applies his 1 rating as a modifier...". This statement is correct when Foch is AD-Foch, but not when he becomes C-n-C. A better wording is "He applies his rating as a modifer..."

11. HQs cannot refit or reconstitute in an EZOC.

 

5-08 Fallschirmjaeger (10 May 01)

1. The Air Supply Head diagram on page 7 has the labels for the values flip-flopped. On the counter shown, the number of Ju-52 Points needed is 10 and the Supply Range is 25. The rules textual description is correct.

2. Ignore the use of "controlled" in the first paragraph of 2.6. There is no requirement that the airfield be controlled by the Germans so as to be used, only that no Dutch units currently occupy the hex.

3. The Stadium Jumpers in 2.5b can move three hexes of city or village terrain.

4. The example of ship movement in 3.3a at the top of page 8 incorrectly lists the ending hex as 28.27. It should say 28.17.

5. The x1/4 strength modifier for a full-hex bridge should be clarified that it reads Dx1/4 when the defender is in the hex and Ax1/4 when the attacker is attacking from the hex.

6. In the Ranged weapons section, the rules describe AA units as having a Blue number on a Light Blue backing. They are Purple, as the rest of the rules and the counters suggest.

 

5-09 Operation Michael Errata (22 Mar 04)

1. In 3.2c, German Gas markers are removed at the end of the German Combat Phase. British Gas markers (an option) are removed at the end of the British Combat Phase.

2. The rules place the Reassembly Phase before the Supply Phase, the map shows the opposite. The rules are correct.

3. Counters of 3, 4, and 5 British Corps should be brown, as all other British units, instead of green.

4. 50/17 British Brigade unit symbol should be filled with yellow like the other 5 Corps units.

5. American units are olive green, not light tan.

6. Stacking is enforced at each phase's end as per the series rules, not only at the end of the movement phase. Nevertheless, units may temporarily stack during the movement phase provided such overstacking is broken before the end of the phase.

7. British artillery units ID corresponds to the Corps owning the artillery groups. At the start of the campaign games all British artillery units must set up within the boundaries of owning Corps.

8. Note #1 of the CRT is not correct. Odds less than 1:2 should be resolved as per series rule 7.4.

9. First column in the Barrage Table should be headed by "<1*".

10. There are no terrain effects affecting Barrage Strength; only spotting effects apply.

11. British reinforcements are wrongly listed as 1, 2, 3/Division. Brigade numbers are wrong and counters are correct. Division number is correct and should be enough to know what reinforcements must enter the game.

 

5-10 The Mighty Endeavor Errata (14 Nov 05)

1. The CRT on the map has its invasion roll column headings (the three of them) shifted one odds column to the left. The one in the rulebook is correct. 1:2 is Fortress, 1:1 is Wetlands, and 2:1 is All other Terrain.

2. The Invasion combat rolls are made during the Combat Phase at any time in the sequence the player desires (i.e. they can be after a regular combat involving other non-invasion units). This is an exception to the normal SCS rule stating that a hex can only be attacked once in a single Combat Phase.

3. The US 104 Inf Div (arriving turn 9) should be d.North, not d.South.

4. The Turn 11 and 12 entries for the 10th and 11th US Armored Divisions have their values switched. The 10th AD comes in on turn 11, but is the 6-4-8 on the counter while the 11th AD comes in on turn 12, but is the 9-6-8 unit. The counters are correct in both value and turn of entry.

5. If all invading units are destroyed in the invasion attempt, the invasion fails and beach port not placed even if the hex is cleared of all German units.

6. The introductory paragraph regarding victory incorrectly list 47 possible VPs, there are 48 possible.

7.  The following rule numbers were dropped from their headings in the rulebook:

      2.14c • Dominating Air Zones

               2.14d • Ground Support

         2.14e • Carpet Bombing

8. Strat Moving units cannot overrun.

 

5-02 (2nd edition) Afrika (24 Apr 08)

1.     On Turn 6 CW Reinforcements, the listing for 3-5-6 Ind Inf Bde (3) s/b 3-5-8 Ind Inf Bde (3).

2.    2.7 mentions 0-1-0 rated Garrison units. Garrison units come in a number of different strengths, what matters is that they have “Gar” in their unit symbol. The immobile artillery unit in Tobruk is not a garrison unit (and must be supplied).

3.    TEC note (a) applies Ax1/3 in the case of a River (the UP/Down entries apply to Escarpments).

4.    Units with a MA of 0 are destroyed if they are forced to retreat.

5.    Allied incoming SPs arrive at Allied controlled ports up to their current capacity.

6.    For withdrawal purposes, Armor means armor (only).

7.    Mussolini Rule: If a CW unit enters Libya, the Mussolini rule is waived for the remainder of the game.

8.    The O’Connor options must be agreed to by both players.

9.    For EZOCs, Negate means negate (no MP cost) when it comes to supply range calculation and truck point movement of SPs.

10. On the Turn 2 CW Reinforcements, the 3-5-7 Ind Inf Bde (14) is a normal reinforcement and is not going to the Restriction Box.

11.  The Italian player can violate the ‘must retreat one hex’ rule if the retreat would cause him to violate his Mussolini Line unit requirements. He can take additional step losses in place to avoid infliction of a sudden death win for the CW player. 

12.   While artillery can advance after combat, they can only advance in ways they could have moved in regular movement. 

13.   Suggested Optional for the Campaign Game and Compass Offensive: The Italain units in Tripoli and any new reinforcements going there must remain in the Tripoli Box until the first Germans arrive.

14.   In scenario 8.6, delete the Artillery unit setting up in B30.10. It is in excess of what should be available

5-11  Guadalaraja (19 Apr 2017)

       1. Set up changes, Scenarios 1 and 2:     

           a)          Zar/72 sets up in Entry Area E (59.01)

           b)         The group setting up East of 45.xx must set up East of 49.xx (exclusive)

           c)          Dmi/48 can set up in 36.08 or 35.14 (Republican player’s choice)

           d)         The group setting up w/i.4 37.16 must also follow these restrictions: LR/50 must set up north of the separation line; 20 J/50 must  set up in 41.16.

           e)          Only Republican units setting up south of the Separation Line can be used in Scenario 2. All other units should not be used.  

 

       2.Use the following Air Point Chart to determine Air Points:

   3.     Change 1.6b to read: “Units are in supply if they are at or within a friendly HQ’s range in number of hexes”. It formerly read “in Leg MPs”.

   4.     HQs cannot be attacked by Interdictors although their movement is affected by interdiction.

   5.     The back of the Gen/CRS counter is printed on the back of Brs/CRS and vice versa.

   6.     Optional rule 4.1 is no longer optional, it is mandatory. Add the following: 4.1b number 5, “Republican units south of the Separation Line have no ZOC.

  7.     Clarification: All barrages made during the Pre-Game Barrage Phases are considered spotted.

  8.     Clarification: Interdictors remain in place until the next Republican Air Point Determination Phase.

  9.     Clarification: The orange line extending from 19.35 to 62.08 is the Start Line mentioned in the rules. Italian /Nationalist units set up north and east and Republican units set up south and west of the Start Line.

  10.     Clarification: The Tank After Combat roll is made with one die.

  11.     Clarification: Truck counters are pseudo-markers representing transport capability, not actual units. At the start of each player’s Movement Phase all unloaded trucks may be picked from their current location and placed in any other non-prohibited location to transport other units. All loaded trucks must unload in place before being removed and used in other place; in this case 2 MPs have already been used to unload so the corresponding truck's MA is accordingly reduced; the recently unloaded unit may move normally. Once a truck has moved at least one hex you cannot remove it from the map and place it in another place until the start of the next Movement Phase. Trucks can only be removed from the map to be used as transports during the following movement phase; otherwise they must remain in place or move using their own MA towards the nearest HQ.

  12.   Clarification: All units, regardless of type, can overrun hexes with a leg movement cost of 2MPs or less. The cost of the overrun is 2 MPs for units using leg movement and 6 MPs for units using motorized or tank movement.

  13.   Delete “or more” from 1.9a. Only artillery with a range of 3 can be used as Anti-Tank weapons.

  14.   Delete the exception appearing in 1.16a. Loaded trucks are automatically unloaded if attacked (as per 1.16d) so no retreat of loaded trucks is possible.

  15.   Armored and flamethrower units have a stacking value of 0, regardless of the number of steps.

  16.   The rules say unspotted barrages are halved while the table says they are subject to a two-column shift to the left. The table is correct, do not halve unspotted barrages

  17.   Scenario 1, for victory draw is 31-35 victory points, not 30-35

5-012 Rock of the Marne (24 Feb 15)

1. The note at the bottom of the Terrain Effects Chart is confusing. Stormtroopers are required if the Germans wish to attack across non-Bridged Marne hexsides (3.2a and b), Allied units cannot do this. However, both sides can freely attack across Marne hexsides with a printed bridge on them (no Stormtrooper requirement) at half strength.

2. The Victory hex for scenario 7.4 should be 30.19, not 30.29.

3. For HQ Replensihment in 1.2, roll two dice against the HQ number for the side on the Turn Record Chart. Note that this same HQ number and roll method applies to aircraft as well (1.6e). 

4. On the Interception Table, the topmost dice roll range should be 3 or less not 2 or less.

5. For breakdowns, both 2.2 and 3.1 should focus on defensive strength as well as attack strength.  In other words, the total attack strength, and defense strength of the Breakdown Regiments must be equal to (or less than) the division's current attack or defense strength. The example in 2.2 regarding the “four 1-2-6s” that seems incorrect, is actually right.

6.   The 161 French Division listed at the end of the list of reinforcements for Turn 7 in scenario 6.1 is the 8 Corps PA unit by that name, so the listing s/b 161/8.

7.   In scenario 7.2, there are no replacements available. It doesn’t mention any, which is correct, but just so it is clear.

8.     Revise 2.2c. Change the sentance “The regiments can move their full movement allowance…” to “The regiments cannot have already moved.” Also, delete the last sentence (“The division cannot move further…”)

 9.    In several scenarios, the French 38 Corps HQ is listed as [6]-1-3. The counter is correct with the values of [4]-1-4 and the scenario listing values are incorrect. The counter is correct.

 10.    In scenario 7.1, the German 15 Corps HQ is not involved in the scenario and should not be listed in with the other HQs.

 

5-013 Bastogne (10 Mar 09)

1. On the Barrage example on page 3, the spotter for the 88 is behind the expanded units to the left. There is one and the example is not a change to the rule that states all barrages need a spotter.

5-014 Karelia '44 (13 June 11)

1. A DG Finish unit, otherwise qualified to create ghosts, still creates ghosts. 2. If a Soviet unit is to be removed to obtain Boss Points, it must be done at the very beginning of the phase.

5-15 It Never Snows

See PDF

 Home